Striping and spiking prerecorded tracks so the master can master!

psongman

Hi, I think I have an mastering guru who will assist me in my first CD. He wants to dump the tracks into Samplitude 7 and work from there. Now, can I stripe the tracks so they can be lined up when they are routed to Samp? Please help me with a tried and true method, so this can be accomplished. I realize this might be easier if it is done at the time of tracking so will do this procedure from now on. But, I want to do this correctly, so any tips or tricks are greatly appreciated. Will await your expertise, Psongman

psongman said:
Hi, I think I have an mastering guru who will assist me in my first CD. He wants to dump the tracks into Samplitude 7 and work from there. Now, can I stripe the tracks so they can be lined up when they are routed to Samp? Please help me with a tried and true method, so this can be accomplished. I realize this might be easier if it is done at the time of tracking so will do this procedure from now on. But, I want to do this correctly, so any tips or tricks are greatly appreciated. Will await your expertise, Psongman
Mastering is done on the final stereo mix. There is no track alignment involved. I presume you mean he is planning to mix if for you?

Yes, I understand that is mixing before mastering. What I was inquiring about was an easy way to spike a track so it could be sent out and aligned afterwards, then mixed, and mastered. Psongman

Well....What were the tracks recorded on? The process will be entirely different for something recorded on an analog real-to-real compared to something recorded on a Roland 2480 digital recorder for example. Since you are talking about "striping", I assume you are analog here?