Some Mixing Tips

Status
Not open for further replies.
noisedude said:
Ouch! Yes ... I will definitely read through it. The problem with this forum is too many fly-by-night newbies coming in, asking a stock question and then disappearing. People like Dracon who stay here through and then start re-contributing are cool. I'm a total beginner but I don't get better cos I'm on here answering other beginners' questions!!
Hey I love you maaaan! I wasn't sure I had contributed anything other than some silly answers. Thanks! :)
I'll make sure to stop contributing immediately! :D ;) :p

Fed said:
I have a wrench set that's like $20 for bunch of them. A profesional mechanic also has wrenches but his maybe $20 for each. Well, we both can tighten the nut (may I even say equaly tight). So what is the difference.... ? eeeeeh...
not sure beyond the obvious, he is making money with his wrenches and his are "better" brand, metal, etc.
Not to argue your point, but I think that's exactly what Harvey is saying. I have (had actually) an uncle who was a mechanic, a cousin, a brother-in-law, and I worked in the automotive industry. The difference between the crap you can buy at AutoZone or the Snap-on Tools, or Sears is a world of difference. It would be like me comparing a microphone that I bought at radio shack for $9 to the Sennheiser E835 or Shure SM58.
Does the $9 Radio Shack record. Sure it does, but how well does it record, and what does it record.
If you are only going to use your 'tools' once, and don't care if they break the first time you use them or if they strip a nut, then buy the cheap crap.
If you are not a professional, but want a quality tool because you want it around for a little while then go with something a little more tough, and better designed.
You don't have to go with Snap-on Tools, but you can go with the LOWE's Kobalt or an even cheaper brand Drop Forge. Mics and audio equipement overall it's the same.