Solo won't "sit" in the mix

bemo

I'm working on a demo of a song. It's my first project in Reaper so I'm just figuring things out, but I laid down a solo using a different sound from the rhythm guitar and it sounds like it was just sort of duct taped into place as an afterthought into the mix. I've tried adding adding a little reverb to it but it still sounds like it was just like I said, an afterthought.

Any tips or tricks for making solos and, dare I say it, vocals sit in the mix like they belong there instead of hanging out on the periphery like a wallflower at the school dance?

I'm working on a demo of a song. It's my first project in Reaper so I'm just figuring things out, but I laid down a solo using a different sound from the rhythm guitar and it sounds like it was just sort of duct taped into place as an afterthought into the mix. I've tried adding adding a little reverb to it but it still sounds like it was just like I said, an afterthought.

Any tips or tricks for making solos and, dare I say it, vocals sit in the mix like they belong there instead of hanging out on the periphery like a wallflower at the school dance?

You should really post this in the Mp3 Mixing Clinic with a sample of the recording. You'll arrive at a much better solution that way. :listeningmusic:

Last edited:
Applying the same reverb as used on other tracks helps - I use a reverb 'bus' and send all the instruments to it, adjusting the amount of reverb on each one appropriately, this puts them all in the same 'room'.
A little light compression on the track can help. Carving some EQ space in the mix for the track can help. Every mix is different of course.

Ooooo yea I think we've all been here Bemo. Atleast in one way, shape, or form.