Screamo Vox? EXCITING!!

ElegyOfficial

Hello experts!
We are in desperate need of your help... How can we make our awesome screamo vocals sound better? What should i do? Is there a distortion thing? How can i get the distortion thing if there is one? Is any reverb added? These things i must know :) I am new to mixing these vocals so any help would be amazing and we will love you forever!
-ATG

Here is a trick that I heard the deftones did on their album White Pony. Record the vocalist whispering the lyrics a few times and heavily compress them. The whispers have to be very in sync with the screaming. Mix that with your main screaming vocal track to taste. Your "screaming" vocalist will probably need good mic technique and/or a lot of compression.

+1 for whisper tracks. Vocalists new to the idea always look quite confused when you ask them to do it, but after some heavy compression they see why you did it.

Here is a trick that I heard the deftones did on their album White Pony. Record the vocalist whispering the lyrics a few times and heavily compress them. The whispers have to be very in sync with the screaming. Mix that with your main screaming vocal track to taste. Your "screaming" vocalist will probably need good mic technique and/or a lot of compression.

I don't do screamo as I am more of a gutteral death growl kind of dude but this sounds like it might give me some intersting sounds if I play with it enough...

+1 for whisper tracks. Vocalists new to the idea always look quite confused when you ask them to do it, but after some heavy compression they see why you did it.