Reverb for Operatic Vocals

hmchristian7020

Hey everyone,

So I'm pretty new to mixing but I want to be able to record myself singing for auditions and competitions coming up. Unfortunately, due to COVID, I am unable to use the reverberant church spaces and accompanists I could before. I found this recording of Nicolai Gedda, and it looks like he is singing in a dry broadcast room, and they're adding the reverb in post to the voice and piano. Can you help me figure out how to recreate this for myself?

youtube. com/ watch?v=3L6Zv2sB9lU

(remove the spaces)

I have the mics and interface covered (2 AKG Perception Small Diaphram Condensers, and an Audio Technica 2035, though it looks like they're using a dynamic mic in the video and I have some of those too), I'm using Reaper and for plugins, I have theReaper stock plugins, Scarlett Reverb from Focusrite, and Voxengo Old Skool Verb.

Any Ideas?

If you do not have a naturally reverberant space in which to record, you have to record in the space you have and add the reverb later.

In Reaper, this is easy enough to do.

1. Record your voice
2. On the track header, click on FX, scroll down to Cockos, and click on that
3. Click on VST: ReaVerb, then click on 'Add"
4. Where it says 'No Preset' click on the down arrow and selectg 'sweetverbo'
5. Play your track, and adjust the 'wet' fader to get the desired amount of reverb. The default level of 'wet' is usually a bit too much.

I know that, I'm trying to recreate the specific reverb they used in the video. I like the tone, space, and decay time of it, but Im having a hard time finding the right reverb style and settings for it. I think it's a plate? but I'm not sure.