Psuedo-mastering at home

FattMusiek

I know just how important the mastering stage is, but my friend's band charged me with the task of mastering the album we've been working on nearly a year due to low funds. I've got an album worth of premastered waves in 32-bit (I don't think it's possible to mixdown to 24-bit in Adobe Audition or else I would have). I have some decent plugins at my disposal (such as the Waves Ultramaximizer) to do the job. One question I have for you mastering pros out there is should I EQ before or after squashing my beloved mixes into a brick?

Thank you for your time. It is much appreciated.

I'm not a mastering pro per se, but in general the way I do it is

1. EQ to "fix" any glaring problems in the mix first, and to minimize any low-level frequencies that may wind up getting accentuated in an unwanted fashon by the compression/limiting process.

2. Compress to a wet brick (not quite yet limited solid.)

3. EQ post-compression just to polish or sweeten the results as necessary.

4. Normalize or limit the result into the final brick.

(and if it were me)

5. Throw the brick out and start over again, holding back on the limiting this time because bricks sound like crap ;) :D

G.

Every type of processing does some sort of damage to the audio. Either adding noise, quantization distortion, removing transients for the sake of overall volume, etc.

When putting together a chain try to figure out how you want to manipulate the audio, kind of like a ball of clay, and shape it into what you want (wether a brick or a ball).

The first thing that I would do (in general) is to remove any sibilance or plosives. So you can consider this EQ and/or compression. The idea here is that the threshold will change if you have anything before it, and it helps stop you from chasing your tail.

Next (if needed) perform any adjustments to the imaging (like M/S, or other stereo enhancements).