noob query regarding aux and bus!

Brohnis

Hello all!

Apologies in advance for the noobtastic nature of this thread.

I'm an experienced musician that's just setup a home recording space, so have limited mixing knowledge!
I am running a tc electronic konnekt 6 into an imac with logic 9. I have no other hardware, so what are the advantages of using bussing and aux channels?

Am I missing out on amazing things? Or am I right in thinking that bus channels are only relevant when used with other racks/processors/compressors not built into my DAW?

Or am I completely mis-guided about the whole thing??

Thanks a lot!

I'd almost not know what to do without them. Any time you need to group a set of channels together you need to buss them. Just for ease of use (among so many other things), I can't imagine not mixing without bussing the drums, guitars, vocals, effects returns.

Any time you want to add an effect to a sound (reverb, for example) you need to use an aux send.

Okay, I know a person or two who use reverb as an insert... But I think they don't understand how it's supposed to work...

OK well that certainly answers my question about the importance of them!

From what you said, I can send say two seperate channels to the same aux channel and assign exactly the same setting to both simultaneously? That does sound fantastic if thats the case! I have doubled guitar tracks that I obviously want to have the same levels/effects on them, but its proving a pain in the ass to do them seperately!

So, (as I said...NOOB here) assume I have an acoustic guitar, bass guitar, piano and two vocals...what should I be doing in terms of bussing what to where and then doing what with it?

Seriously apologise for the stupidity on display here!

...just my curiosity
if you doubled your guitars, why do you want exactly the same settings on them?

Let me start by saying I don't know exactly what I'm doing?