Newbie: Mixing a highly dynamic singer

Air For Wings

K. I'm a singer with tech background but I am not a recording engineer. My main mixing problem is that I'm highly dynamic with a broad vocal resonance (contralto voice) and don't know how to mix for that and still keep presence without distortion.

(BTW I used to do tech in radio and in TV so I'm the worst kind of newbie. The kind that imagines they can take this on! LOL )

I'm recording and mixing my own songs using Ableton.
I've got my studio set up to get good clean sound for the soft, intimate vocals and the power notes in the same session. No noticeable background noise. (When I record my vocals, it's with my pre-mixed backing track in a headset, so just my voice.)

When I go to mix:
I've been importing and then consolidating and normalizing the vocal track.
There's often a 9db or even 12 db difference between the softer parts and the power notes on most of my vocal tracks. (That's with me backing off the mic on the power notes.)

If I keep the levels down, to accommodate the power notes, the soft parts get drowned by the music or, alternately, have no presence.
If I crank up the soft parts, then I overdrive the power notes. Applying a compression filter / plug in has not been fixing that. The power notes still sound distorted.

If I do different sound levels for the quiet parts vs the power notes, they end up having different "presence", which weakens the song and also gets distracting.

If I notch the background music to pop the vocals at the tricky parts, the background music almost entirely drops out because my vocals have a broad resonance on them, so I have to notch too much of the background, (and otherwise the notching doesn't work).

My voice is also contralto, which gives my voice its unique sound. I don't want to lose that in the mixing. Although, on the power notes, I understand one can successfully compromise.

I do not know how to mix this.