Need opinions on new recorded song?

Bloodsoaked

Death Metal Freak
I have done some recording for one song and I am trying to mix it and really have no idea where to begin. You can check out what I have recorded so far here: http://www.soundclick.com/bands/pagemusic.cfm?bandID=481840

The only thing the song is missing is a Bass track. There is one Beatcraft drum track, 2 guitar tracks panned left and two guitar tracks panned right. The three vocals tracks are panned even (in the middle).

There is no FX on any individual track. On the Main FX I used EQ and the Master Limiter. That is the only "mixing" I did. Please let me know what you or anyone who would like to listen to the song thinks and what can be done to make it better.

This is my first attempt at home recording. The style of music is not for everyone but it is what I like.

Thank you...

Last edited:
IMO, recording is fine.

Mixing needs some work. I feel that the guitars a too loud and I'd take em down a bit (my ears are ringing now BTW). I've been playing/experimenting myself with the material I record for the band I'm in and I've found that you can take the guitars down quite a bit and they still sound great. At the moment I reckon that they are drowning out the vocals. I know that with this genre some may say that it's not a bad thing (drowning them out that is) but I still feel that they should still stand out in the mix. I would also be tempted to bring the guitars in a bit... not too much... and perhaps even put some of the guitar at about 20% from centre either left or right or both, you certainly have enough tracks to try this with.

And get that bass track sorted ;)

andy

Synkrotron said:
IMO, recording is fine.