Need advice on budget studio monitors - do I need a subwoofer etc?

NeilKenAlt

Hi everyone, I've just joined these forums. I'm a rock musician from the UK and play in an 80s melodic/hard rock style duo. We've been recording our original material - we have a BOSS BR 1600cd multitrack recorder, but have recently also started using Samplitude Music Studio 2016 too.

So far I've been doing the mixing and mastering through headphones and various PA type speakers (I have a Roland Street Cube EX amp), but I read that it's best to use proper studio monitor speakers to get the best possible results. So assuming this is true, I'm now looking to purchase some studio monitors.

I don't want to spend a fortune, maybe up to £300 (though this isn't set in stone), so I'm thinking of buying a pair of KRK Rokit RP5 G3's. However I noticed most budget studio monitors are small compared to PA speakers etc, I mean these ones have a 5'' glass-aramid composite woofer and 1'' soft-dome tweeter so will they really sound any good, and will I be able to hear the bass frequencies properly, etc? Or are studio monitors usually smaller than normal speakers?

I also read a blog where a guy said it's best to use subwoofers in order to hear the bass properly, otherwise you might end up adding too much bass to the mix because you couldn't hear it properly, meaning it will sound far too bassy when people listen to it on their devices, etc. Is this true, and how do I add subwoofers to the KRK Rokit?

Also, I heard you need to use isolation pads with studio monitors to stop them vibrating - is this correct and does it really make much of a difference? Or should I buy speaker stands?