My mixes are always softer than commercial music of the same genre

XeroTalent

I admit I'm a beginner at mixing... but I can get everything sounding pretty damn good, all the instruments have their own space, and the song as a whole sounds great.

Right now, the result of my mix is about as loud as it will go... I'm already peaking about +2.5dB on my Master fader. All my other tracks have wiggle room, except the kick and snare which is just under peaking... I've been using those tracks as my baseline to revolve the other faders around.

But if I put my songs in a playlist with other commercial music of the same genre (rock, hard rock), then I notice that my songs are significantly lower in volume than the commercial music.

I know about the whole 'loudness wars', but is this a result of my recording techniques, microphones, mixing, or are most commercial rock tracks cranked to 11? I don't want to push my Master any higher for fear of distorting or generating ear fatigue.

Just curious if anyone else has had this issue, and if/how you overcame it so that your music is roughly the same volume as commercial tracks.

Thanks!

When yous say "+2.5dB" do you mean at the master bus inside a DAW? Or on an analog mixer?

Cheers :)

That's totally normal. First of all, you're mixing WAAAAYYYYYY too hot. Nothing should be going over 0db, or anywhere close to it, including your master. You should have lots of headroom for every instrument, you shouldn't be near 0db on any track.

What's happening is that you're confusing mixing with one aspect of mastering. Your mixes should be peaking WAAAAYYYY below 0db....like -10db is fine. Don't worry about volume while mixing. Turn everything down, turn up your monitors and just worry about getting a good mix.