Monitors, Monitors, Monitors..

Bstage

Hello Everyone,

I am an aspiring engineer/ producer who wants some good advice on a small 10 X 10 studio Moniter recommendation....

Studio Setup example....

I Me I
I I
I I
I 10 X 10 Room I

X = Monitors

The Music I am creating is West Coast Hip Hop.. Very Bassy music... I am looking for Smaller yet powerful Monitors that can reproduce Bass without a seperate subwoofer.

I am planning on purchasing acoustic Bass traps as well as foam.
I am interested in most likely a powered Monitor system.

Anything anyone can recommend for under $600.... Quality is a must !!!

Thanks..

Bstage

Since it's very bass driven music, you want something that will reproduce the bass accurately and clearly without the use of a sub. You can get a pair of KRK V6 (6" cone) for $699.98. Event makes the 20/20bas (8" cone) which are about $799.99 per pair. Event also makes the TR8XL which are 599.99 per pair. Those fit in your budget. I know you said that you wanted to keep it under $600.00, but if you can spend the extra it might benefit you in the long run. ;) Go to a local music store and try out the different monitors they have there. Then you can A/B different ones and see which pair you like better. Hope this helps.

Out of all the different pieces of gear that you can buy for a studio, monitors are number one on the list of things that you have to hear before you buy.

I've gotten some good microphone recommendations off of this board that I researched and bought without hearing, but when it came to monitors I went to the store and listened to every set they had. I listened to a few monitors that were recommended on this board that I thought sounded like absolute crap. As a result my price range went up from about $500 to $1000. Instead of getting a new pair of M-audio BX8s for $500 I waited awhile and found a pair of Mackie HR824s for about $950 used. I'm much happier having waited and saved up.