mixing techniques and retaining the purity of raw music

pcstudios

I didn't really know where to post this, but here seems ok, because it involves mixing techniques.

I've been offered to work along side someone who works with commercial audio productions, like lingos and short 15s clips. It sounded good at first. But my passion is mixing acoustic music. Acoustic music has a purity and free from auto tune and free from fixing small timing errors here and there - it is what it is. That's part of the beauty of folk and acoustic, it flows freely and purely without many artificial fixes, retaining the integrity of the artists. The commercial world of advertisements have to be perfect in pitch, perfect in timing, or it gets thrown out. It's so artificial. So I'm wondering if I'm dumb to pass this up. It could bring in some dough from royalties, but it would feel fake to me. I'm a musician first, and I don't want to mix things to sound like a automatic machine.

Any thoughts on this?

Ha! welcome to the world of commercial music. The needs and demands of producing short cues, jingles, stabs and promo clips will be extremely different to your view off the recording world. Having done this (and still doing with Covid in mind), you have to stop the quest for 'art', and go with the business needs. You are absolutely spot on with the perfection criteria mentioned. You also forgot time itself - everything needs doing instantly. The phone rings. Can you do this, this and this? You say yes, they counter with "within the hour?" If you say yes, you get paid. I seriously doubt you will get royalties, most of my stuff on these deals is buy-out. No credit, no royalties. It's just too complicated to do PRS/PPL (or the US equivalent) for a composition lasting ten seconds, with mono title, and after a few days, forgotten.