Mixing Problems--blending vocals with already mixdown beats

versatile242

I am new to the the mixing and edit music....I been learning from youtube videos and I need help with getting my vocals to blend in with the beat...Could someone please help me and let me know what I am doing wrong...The music program I use is Adobe Audition 3, mastering program: Izotope 4, and I use a USB AT 2020 mic..

This has been a common question lately. Try searching.

Probably what will help most is a fair bit of compression on the vocal.

Having heard two tracks I take back my compression suggestion. It sounds more like a tonal mismatch. The tracks are "scooped" and hyped in the highs but your vocals have a strong low-mid component. What processing are you doing on the backing tracks and on the vocal? You might try moving the mic back a bit while recording your voice to lessen the proximity effect.

I record the hooks three times and pan 2 left and right at about 60...I record vocals or verse once, doubles twice panned hard right and left, and adlibs once centered.... I compress first. For Eq, I take out the low end of my vocals around 132 hz( high pass filter) and for d'essing i turn it down -7.9 db around 6669 hz. Then I add reverb, exciter, and widener

Last edited:
It's a compression issue, but not the way you think it is.

Those mixed beats were compressed pretty hard. Every time a drum hits, the entire volume of everything else dips in volume for the tiniest fraction of time. Because the entire mix is compressed together, everything has the same behavior...except for your vocals. Unfortunately, you can't just slap a compressor on the vocal track and fix it because the compressor has to respond to the peaks of the beat instead of the vocal peaks if it wants to "fit in". And the peaks of the beat have been largely removed...