Mixing issues, help

Mariusvan

Hi.
I am new to recording. I am only recording my friend as this stage. He is a jazz guitarist and I use backtracks from IrealPro.
I am unsure whether my mix is jazzy enough and whether the guitars sound jazzy enough. I try to give more preference to the bass guitar to give a feeling of a staged jazz group. I do not have monitor speakers nor the budget for it soon. Any suggestions will be welcome. View attachment My funny valentine.mp3 if sound file cannot be reached visit youtu.be/fOhnvuoooI0 although this is a different file but same style.

The MP3 and video sound pretty different to my ear, especially the stereo pan.

Not bad, though I am not a jazz guy. (I used listen to Joe Pass a lot, though!)

Video sync is good.

I'm guessing the guitar sounds like what you heard? Sounds good to me.

I'm not sold on the bass or drum sounds, but they work for providing the base. (Again, not a jazz guy, so maybe it's perfect.)

It's a little loose rhythm-wise, but maybe that's the way it's supposed to be and not a mix thing. I don't see the guitarist wearing headphones so you must have had the backing track playing while you recorded the amp? Or did you record the guitar direct and mix that later?

I'd probably try something different with the panning. Things feel a little indefinite in placement in my one listen with headphones. Can't say what, but I'd probably keep it simple with just placement of mono for bass & guitar and maybe narrowly spread keys and drum tracks.