Mixing Issues

TelePaul

J to the R O C
Hey guys, I know this is a stupid post so dont feel oblige to respond, I'm aware the whole concept of mixing is an art unto itself. Still, you might be able to gimme a few ideas...

Firstly, I'm having trouble getting cd qulaity from my home...i'm not too worried, as im new to this and my set up is entry level. You can find one mix I did here:

http://www.bebo.com/grp/Grp.jsp

Largely my problem is that something will sound great through my monitor and on my home stereo...but through headphones or streamed from the net it sounds crap...I know this is expected, but it wont happen with professionally done CDs. So, how do I take steps to improve the quality? I presume its a mixture of the instrument quality as its inut and the quality of sequencer and soundcard and pre-amps. Still, I find it hard to make my mix seem...well, lets say '3 D'...it seems kinda lifeless, no matter how I pan it and how much reverb I mess with. Guitar parts seem week and bass seems either too loud or too quiet.

Maybe someone could recommend an article on EQ? the search button never produces result of any kind for me...not sure why, maybe coz my pc blocks almost everything. I know this was a silly post, and its ridiculous to expect a definitive answer for better mixing and mastering but if anyone could give me even basic tips on improving the quality of a mix, thatd be great.

well, your link is down.

look for SouthSide Glen's tutorial on compression, it's in his signature. thats a good place to start learning about mixing.

Yep, definetly need to learn about compression to fix your translation problems. LOL :rolleyes:

Without knowing much about your setup, this is kind of a stab in the dark, but I'm guessing your mixing enviroment is pretty screwed up. Also, listening to commercial cd's on your system will help you learn to translate your mixes (make them sound good everywhere). It is really something you have to LEARN to do.