Mixing help?

ollie44

Hey guys i am completely new to this whole thing so don't eat me please.

Ok, let's just say i record bass, guitar and some keys. It won't sound right at all will it? will just sound messy and everything will contrast and it will just sound like loads of individual instruments over each other. Is the main way of trying to fix this by using the EQ? Like, is it a clash of frequencies that cause this?

any tips or help would be much appreciated :)

Does it sound messy before you record it? That's when you should be fixin it and then all you need is to record it transparently.

"It depends."

Some of the best mixes I've ever done were with no EQ, no compression, no nothing except great core sounds and good mic selection and placement to pick it up.

Otherwise, yes -- EQ is to "tailor" the sounds to make them sit better together -- Keeping in mind that it's tailoring -- as in how a tailor will take a suit that fits you pretty well in the first place and make it fit REALLY well. Sounds that just don't work well together aren't going to work well no matter how much you try to "force" them too...

Ok, let's just say i record bass, guitar and some keys. It won't sound right at all will it? will just sound messy and everything will contrast and it will just sound like loads of individual instruments over each other.
Are you asking hypothetically? Or are you saying that your recordings end up this way?

If it's the former, then my question is "Why would you assume that?".

If it's the latter, then you have to ask yourself why it sounds this way. A good arrangement played well shouldn't sound like "messy and everything will contrast and it will just sound like loads of individual instruments over each other". If it does, I doubt EQ or any other effect can cure it.

Start by panning the individual instruments apart...to taste. That should do a lot to keep them from being all over each other.