Mixing and EQing drums in rock or prog/rock

YellowDwarf

Dismember
I'm getting ready to mix a new self-recorded album of about 20 songs. I'm a hobbyist like many here.

I'd like to hear how the folks who record/produce rock music EQ their drum tracks - not necessarily the "making each individual drum track" (i.e. snare, kick, overheads etc) sound great, but how to then fit the tracks into the song EQ-wise.

I'm not a very good explainer, so I'll give an example. Maybe you'll know the album or not - Tool's 10,000 Days. I'm not a super-fan of Tool or anything, nor does my music sound like theirs, but I was intrigued at how they mixed the drums. I bet if you had access to the tracks and listened to the post-mixed toms, for example, they'd sound really thin. Yet when you listen to a song, those toms stand out and sound terrific.

Do any of you mix the drums like this, such that they can only be heard in the sonic holes left by the other instruments? If so, how do you go about doing it? If not, how do you mix drums so they fit with guitars and basses and other instruments?

I know this is a rather broad question that invites a whole range of responses and I'm not looking for a "one size fits all" solution ... but we're all sitting at home (hopefully) so there's time!

Thanks,
Timbo

Last edited:
In that case you can just use the samples that fit the mix best. There is no answer to what eq to use as every mix is different.

Thanks, maybe I wasn't clear with my long winded question.

Besides making the drum track sound great on its own, do you cut a lot of the frequencies or mix it as it was recorded?

Tim

I work with real drums a lot, I record real kits with drummers.

However I do sometimes write drum tracks with samples and I tend to use samples that make the kit sound like it was recorded for the actual song. The good thing about samples is you can change them within the drum program to suit the song during mixing.