Mixing the bottom end

Much great advice. The old adage "less is more" really works in some applications. Knowing what to concentrate on in order to enhance it is also an eye(ear) opening experience.

Several years back when I assembled my current studio and was able to acquire very decent gear, one of the first things I went about doing was completely destroying the low-end reproduction in most of the projects I had recorded up to that point. Which was a bunch. I thought that with the addition of the power and flexibility of the programs and plugins at my disposal, it would be an easy thing to achieve high-end pro low end in the mixes. Which I later found, I already had........

Fortunately when I began to really get into the pro level aspect of digital mixing and recording, I knew someone who was successful in the business and I paid him to teach me. In many ways I was an advanced student as far as mic/pres/outboard/room setup/etc but I could barely start my computer.....let alone do anything about a crash!

Anyway......what I learned about the lowend is all about the energy and how it affects the mix of everything else. The advice about HPF a shade below 30hz is deadon....I'd even go above that in most cases of rock music in general, certainly country, jazz for certain, and Indie pop..I'm not sure there is a bass part....;-0. I learned to separate the lowend of the kik and the bass yet keep them as fellow team members holding down that part of an arrangement.