Mixer questions! HELP!

grahamware

That FAQ Guy
Hey guys I'll admit it; I'm a newbie. I know little about mixers besides what I've learned from the internet in the last week.

I'm a trumpet player by trade, and I'm going to record the music of my jazz combo in a few weeks. Unfortunately, I'm not tone deaf, and I can discern between good sound and bad sound. This is unfortunate because I have a very light wallet at the moment.

I am on a quest for a cheap, quality mixer. Please don't respond telling me this can't be done; I know it's unlikely I'm going to find the perfect 64 channel mixer for 50 dollars.

I'll tell you I'm in the $100 range for my mixer. I could spend a little more if I need to, but I'm also in the market for some nice mikes and a new soundcard with a decent input.

I would especially appreciate advice about Behringer cheap-o mixers (MX802A, etc.) from people who have experience with them-are they any good, or am I going to get what I pay for?

To ease your responding experience, know that I need at least FOUR XLR inputs and at least ONE aux input (for elec bass). I only need two busses because I want to feed the sound through something like an SB audigy non-platinum (I think this is right, tell me if I'm wrong).

I'm sure that you're going to see vary different reviews on Behringer mixers. They've been a topic of almost heated debate many times on this board.

In attempts to possibly head that off (they get boring after a while - do some searches and you'll see what I mean), I'd recommend looking into ebay. Be it riskier, I think that you're going to get much more bang for your buck going used. Take a look at mixers in your price range, then research the models available. I'm sure folks here can help with that too.

Light in the wallet myself, that's the route I chose, and I found an indredible deal within 4 days of looking.