Mixed down Badly. Newbie needs help.

Ibrow

Hey,

I'm a relative newbie to all this and I finally got around to mixing down a couple of songs. The speakers I monitor with suck, so I know I need to change that. That's not the problem I'm interested in. I am using Vegas and I mixed to one track. I had two songs, mixed them both down and put them on CD. They both sounded just lovely in the studio.

I took the CD to my car, and it was too quiet. Real CD's I listen comfortably at about 14 on my cd player, my mixes I had to listen at 20 to "hear" it. Also, there was way too much bass.

So, how do I avoid a "quiet" mix without clipping? Also, how do I lose some of the bass? My drums are done in Fruityloops, but I record myself playing the bass. I also have soundforge for editing purposes.

Any help is appreciated. :)

Ibrow

You need mastering.

No, I'm not trying to "toot my own horn" - You just do. 90% (at least) of mixes out there are considered "too quiet" until they're mastered. Unfortunately, many mastering engineers are going for sheer volume lately, and that doesn't help the cause...

John Scrip - www.massivemastering.com

yes, generally speaking, you generally need some sort of compression on the mix bus in order to make a cd sound "loud enough". professional mastering is one of the best ways to accomplish that. it's also generally not very cheap, and for rough mixes, stuff to listen to in the car or for gig-getting demos (etc) it may be a bit overkill. if i were looking to have a cd to sell (even just independently at gigs), and were gonna press silvers, then you bet i'd get it mastered. anything worth doing is worth doing right.