Matching quality + creating cohesion for album

jthom

Hi guys.

Hopefully this is the right thread for this post.

My band recorded three songs (released as singles) with our label using a professional studio, experienced engineers and professional mastering.

We’re no longer a part of the label but have all copyright to the songs. We’d like to record three new songs to put on a mini album alongside the existing three.

My question is in regards to matching the quality of the new songs with the previous ones.

I reckon we could use a new sound engineer and achieve a similar quality but how could we ensure that all six tracks are ‘cohesive’ and sound like they belong on the same album? I guess one option would be to have all six mastered by the same engineer? (we have the unmastered versions of the first three songs).

As an alternative (and a project for me), we could record the new tracks on our own using my home studio. I’m an amateur at best but should be able to achieve a fairly (if slightly less) similar quality of recording with some effort. If we went down this route, how could we ensure that all six tracks sound fairly cohesive?

Any thoughts/opinions/advice would be much appreciated.

Couple quick thoughts...

*Part of this will simply be having the same musicians, using the same guitars, amps, drums, etc, so right off the bat you've got a better shot of pulling this off than, say, I would at replicating the same general vibe.

*Part of this will be HOW the insturments and vocals were recorded - if you happen to remember anything about the way the drums were mic'd up, how the guitars were mic'd up, what vocal mic you guys used, whether the bass was tracked direct, through an amp, or with a combination of the two, etc, that can definitely help too.