Low end turf

S8-N

..|.. Part-time Antichrist ..|..
Someone settle an argument for me.
It is my contention that the kickdrum should occupy a lower freq than the bass guitar.
My drummer claims that the kickdrum should be click and punch but not dip into the low freq's which is where the bass guitar should reside.
I say that the bass guitar should be somewhere between the kick the the guitar. Someone agree with me please...

S8-N

I'm no expert but I play one on the Internet and how you do it is how I do it. Seems to sound good to me. I like to feel the kick as much as hear it.

dmc

I think it's all about style. I don't know why, but drummers always seem to be "by the book." For instance, you can never tell a drummer that his rhythm is screwing up a tune...it's always your fault cause he's the guy who knows how to count :)

Anyway, I like deep bass drums that have a good punch but don't sound too dead. However, real low frequency bass drum sounds in techno and modern heavy metal always seem "fakey" to me. One song that I've brought up in the past is Soundgarden's "4th of July". The bass guitar is tuned really low. If I had written that song I might have opted for a really low thumpy kick drum sound, however they went with a VERY natural sound on the set...in my opinion the best drum sound they ever used. The bass wasn't low but it had enough ring to it to make it sound deep. Drums seem to take on a sound relative to the rest of the music. I use the exact same drum samples (I'd kill for a real drummer) in most of my songs and I swear that in each tune the drums sound completely different.