Let's find out: Neutron beats human?

Francesco Cagne

Hey everyone,

My name is Francesco Cagnetta and I am a graduate student at Sae Institute in Milan. During this time I am conducting a research that intends to explore the potential of audio automation technologies, especially the Neutron's one, a plugin made by iZotope that can implement an autonomous processing chain by using intelligent algorithms.

For this purpose I conducted a survey that compares three different mix versions, one of which is generated using only Neutron automation processes. You can join the survey at the following link where you will find more information on the research project. It will take a few minutes to complete it and may lead to unexpected results.

Have fun!

Let's find out: Neutron beats human?

All results will be published on January 7th. I have to collect enough data to have a statistically valid conclusion. I ask you to share with your fellow colleagues the survey to speed up this process.

First answers are very interasting.

The simple way to guess correctly...find the most hyped mix in the mids/highs...that is the Neutron mix.

I've heard other Neutron examples on other sites, and that's the thing that always stuck out...the hyped sound of Neutron.
Of course...that might fit how much of today's music is...very hyped dynamically and tonally, so I wouldn't be surprised if lots of people actually liked that.

Hi miroslav, thanks for replying!

I think the best way to approach this survey is to have no preconceptions. There's a lot of elements that influence final result, starting from music genre, recordings quality et ceterum. Actually how Neutron works is more complicated than emphasizing mids/high range and from the first responders I would say that the conclusions are not to be taken for granted!

Best,