I think I'm lost LOL

pcstudios

You've got to admit, when it comes to mixing using plugins, the combinations of ways to mix is infinite. There are different orders for each chain, different eq's, different compressions, and what I found out tonight is there are tons of different ways to saturate. I didn't have any saturation plugin, and I bought the Waves Abbey Rd Saturator which was on sale. Lots more than I need but it was on sale and I can use it sparingly.

But it opens a whole new dimension to mixing stems. At this point, I'm kind of lost on how to use it - or at least I haven't gotten a handle on it yet. Like I mentioned before, I'm using it sparingly, and really only using it for acoustic guitar to bring it out into the mix better, and on the mix bus to experiment a little with it there.

The new plugin has something on it I've never used before, called a compactor. I'll have to read up a lot before I tackle it. It has a pre and post EQ. And a saturation gain knob, along with a compactor blend and a saturator blend knob. Plenty to learn!!

When it comes to a saturator, there are basically no general rules as to where in the chain you should place it. Some people put it first, some people put it after EQ and compression, and some people even put it after reverb!!

You know....I hate to admit it....and I've been recording for decades now...but saturation is one effect I still don't truly understand. I'm not saying I can't hear it's results. I've always seen it as a sort of tone "fattener"...but I'm sure I'm way off.

Maybe some of you can educate me?

Mick

You know....I hate to admit it....and I've been recording for decades now...but saturation is one effect I still don't truly understand. I'm not saying I can't hear it's results. I've always seen it as a sort of tone "fattener"...but I'm sure I'm way off.

Maybe some of you can educate me?

Mick