i need a check list for mixing please

jugalo180

www.moneyistherecipe.com
can anyone willing to help, post a check list for recording and mixing. i'm only using soundfornts and samples from my keyboard and the internet. i have a shure58 running into a mackie mixer, then going into a 16bit sb audigy card( i know, shame on me). i do my editing in acid and forge. i'm monitoring through headphones, and stereo speakers(again, shame on me).

what i'm asking for is a check list to mix my music/pre produce my music. ie,
1 record all tracks
2 cut frequencies in vocals
3 double vocals
4 add a little reverb, if desired
5 soft or hard pan as desired

so on and so on. i'm looking for advice from as many people who want to dish it. since i'm a newbie, i just feel if i had a check list (sort of a bible) that i would work more proficient and my sound would benifit from the consistency. once i have an adopted routine down i can then experiment for my own signature sound. thanx in advance to everyone.

Wow.... That's a crazy question. I really cannot think of a way just to start of such a list...

Each recording is different, and the only thing you can do is listen. Train your ears by comparing what you did to alot of other recordings. What is the difference, why, is it bad? Then listen back to your own recording, don't try to make it sound alike, just try to make it sound better.

There's no such thing as a list, and I cannot think of anything like that either...

...even if there were, everyone's would be different. For me, my list looks like this:

1) Track
2) Mix
3) Master

oh, and then

4) Re-track the screwed up parts
5) Mix the re-tracked parts
6) Re-do the entire mix which is different now
7) Master
8) Chuck the mastering, mix some more
9) Get pissed off, watch TV and drink
10) Finalize Mix
11) Master
12) Upload to MP3 Clinic
13) Repeat steps 4-13

:D

Well the basic guidline is...

Track

Edit

Mix

Mastering