I keep getting an UNWANTED Live sound.

d(-_-)b-Phones

Ok here we go. Prepair yourselves.

To start this off i would like to say that I am a newbie with decent knowledge and really expensive equip. and no true idea what I am doing.

With that out of the way. I can say i used my humility once today.

Anyway the problem is this. After I record. and get everything into nuendo I keep getting a live sound out of what should be a NOT live sound. I have no idea what I am doing wrong. I try to aproach the tracks like this,

>Compressor>EQ>Somthing else.. then.... somthing, lol

I know that looks weird and is prob a good example of my lack of structure.
IDont have any foundations to start my mix on, and i imagine that is my largest problem. A friend of mine told me to use Limiters/gates to kinda cut the noise out and to tweek the compression to get more of that live feel, 2 problems with that.

#1 I dont know what a non live sound is.
#2 When i try to use limiters and gates I get frustrated and want to kill somthing. ( and my desk cant handle many more beatings. )

So can someone give me 2 things from their brains please, Tell me how to use a Limiter to my own benifit and can someone please in the time scale format lay out a decent process tree for tracks

Example:
DoThis>Dothis>DoThis>Dothis>Dothis>dothis

I understand that not all effects and processes will be used for every track, so if your really bored maybe you can do it like this

Drums

Guitars

Bass

Vocals

the mixed down stereo Track

Just so you know all this info will be printed out and taped to my chest.

I am hoping that this is my problem with the live sound issue, if its not well maybe you can give me some other pointers.

After you make the process tree, ;)

No idea what a LIVE sound is?

Ok, like it sounds recorded live, Like i mic'd up a gig at the local bar and record it. altho its not recorded at the local bar.