i could use a little mixing and mastering advice

Levant

ok maybe I could use a lot of advice haha.. im new at this and my work will probably be evidence of that.... so I know I have lots to learn. anyway, I have a song that I wrote, preformed, recorded and mixed. all to the best of my untrained inexperienced ability. the song is at http://www.soundclick.com/bands/0/tmamusic.htm its called Baby Girl. All im asking for is a little advice from some people who really know what they are talking about. I don’t know if you guys like island music but go ahead and download the MP3 version of the song and tell me what I can do to get a more professional mix. any advice on other aspects of the song would be appreciated as well go ahead and tell me how bad is sucks if ya want, i'll accept criticism as long as i can learn from it. i know the vocals need some distance, they are to up front, is there a ways to push them back a little with out adding to much reverb? ... thanks for all your help....

I'm going to apologize in advance for this, because I'm a Newbie here, and undoubtably have no standing to be saying anything.

I've seen a couple of threads now where a newbie posts a request for critiquing of a mix, and the response has been a very blaring (paraphrased, but the message is clear) - Use the mp3 mixing clinic you dummy.

I know (now) about the mp3 mixing clinic, and it's a great idea. But is it unreasonable to expect that a person, a newbie in particular, would post a request to listen to a mix in the mixing/mastering forum? That's what I did. No, no one blasted me for doing so, but I have seen it happen to a couple of others.