generally need help with everything.

funbox

Hi there,

I'm new to both the forums and recording in general and was wondering if I could get some advice.

I'm trying to master a (currently) instrumental grunge/heavy blues track with the intention of putting some vocals on later. all of my attempts however are ending in the mix sounding midscooped and overcompressed. I'm looking for more of a gritty, dirtier sound but at the moment it's just too empty and clean for my liking, even before compressing the whole mix (should i even be doing that?!)

is this a mastering problem? or was the eq/tone on each track wrong in the first place? or just musically not deep enough?

it's probably obvious that any help at all would be greatly appreciated, because at the moment its like the matrix 3 made more sense than this.

thanks in advance

ps. i'll upload some files when i've gotten through the mighty task of making 5 posts.

is this a mastering problem? or was the eq/tone on each track wrong in the first place? or just musically not deep enough?
First, funbox, welcome to the forum. :)

Second, if your mix doesn't sound right then go back and fix it in the mix, not in mastering. Waiting until after you have mixed down to fix the mix is just closing the barn door after the horses have already left. You apparently have an idea in your head of what you want your side to sound like. Th earlier in the production process you can achieve that sound - or at least get things as close as possible - the better off you'll wind up being.

Back off on the gain and the distortion on your guitars when you record. You need less of that than you think. Record in a decent-sounding room. Use compression during the mixing process as needed instead of automatically.