Film - do i compress dialogue?

klytus

I'm about to do my first sound mix for film - a 15minute short. I'm really confused about the best way to proceed.

Should I run the dialogue and FX tracks through compressors and limiters? Or just the music? How much etc?

Should I master the music completely, THEN bring it into the mix before mastering it again with everything else?

Or do I leave the music unmastered till the dialogue and fx are all in place to avoid 'overcooking' it?

Please I'm desperate for all the advice I can get!

No expert here

I am by no means an expert in what you are asking, but I will tell you how I would try to aproach this. I think I would first get a good ready for mastering mix on the music as well as the dialog together and then get it mastered. That way everything will be blended correctly. As far as compression goes, during final mix down, if you need to use it, you want to do it sparingly. You should not go over 2 to 3 db on the loudest passage.

I hope this helps, Joe

much obliged

What you say makes sense, thanks.

Don't spose you know the best way to 'normalise' the dialogue track - some character's voices (females mostly) are significantly quiter than the men they're acting alongside.

Should I individually treat every single line in a wave editor, or leave it till the end and do something 'clever' with compression/normalise...?

If each person's voice is on a seperate track, you would be able to control the volume for each. My guess is that they are not. Boy, thats a toughy. I do not have enough experience to know what tools could be used to fix that. If these are in some form of DAW, you could try to automate the volume to control it (sounds like a lot of work). But there are times we got to do what we got to do.

One thought that just came to me as I was typing this was, what are the possibilities of retracking the female voice on a seterate track.