eq-ing question

hi im a newbie starting to learn mixing and eqing, and got some advice from someone and wanted to check if this is a good idea or not or what neone else is doing. he said create 3 groups tracks( kik n bass, instruments, highs)
organize all my tracks in project into these three groups and besically put a eq on the group tracks of the instuments and highs groups to cut off low frequencies.
He said roll off 125hz on instruments group and in all fx sends, use steepest cut for this, and in highs group roll off 3k

Wouldnt doing this make it no longer necessary to do ne rolling off of low frequencies when eq-ing individual tracks?
Should i do this?
thnks

I don't know if it's a good idea or not, but you're bound to individually eq each track anyways, so why put them into a group to eq more? I never group tracks or use aux busses or anything. I'm not even sure I know how to do that with Cubase. I always just treat each individual track with whatever it needs.

hth,

eq question

I agree with Chili, eq each track individually rather than mix them together first. That way you can control the sound of each instrument better and you can change each instrument later if it turns out that your first sound-impression wasn't what you wanted. And you can apply eq etc. to the whole mix, if necessary, after you've obtained the sound you like from each track. I'm using Cakewalk Sonar 5 so can eq each separate track as well as the whole piece. I don't know what you're using to record with, so don't know what capabilities you have.

It doesn't make much sense to EQ tracks in groups as a general practice.

One of the things you're often trying to accomplish with EQ is to allow each track to come through in the mix - e.g. you might be cutting one track at 3k and boosting another slightly at the same level, so the second one doesn't get covered up (just an example).