Cubase EQ Automation - Mixing Piano and Electric Guitar

SparkyNZ

Hi. I'm pretty new to using EQ. I have a track with competing electric guitar power chords and piano arpeggio. I've found an EQ setting for my piano which boosts it through the guitar which works OK for me for those particular parts of the song. The only problem is that I don't want to use this amount of EQ in parts of the song which don't have the guitar.

I'm using Cubase 8 Pro.

One thing I could do is move the "piano without guitar" parts onto a separate track which doesn't have EQ but I would like to vary the EQ.

Rather than just "EQ on" or "EQ off" is there a setting which I can vary on the channel/track to vary the amount of EQ as a whole (like a dry/wet EQ control that I can vary with time) ?

Is there such a control or do I have to using routing/sends etc? I am not really familiar with sends/buses either but I would like some guidance so I don't do this the hard way.

Hope this makes sense!

I think I have figured this out:

1) By default my piano channel goes to "Stereo Out"
2) I created a new Group Channel Track called "Piano EQ" and added the EQ to boost the piano during the power chords
3) For each piano track, I added a "Send" to "Piano EQ"
4) At the start of my song "Piano EQ" volume is set to zero and I hear the piano tracks without the EQ
5) I then use Automation to record changes in the "Piano EQ" level - this means I can graduly boost the EQ of the piano "on top of" the original piano track

This seems to work for me but if there is a better "standard" way of doing this, please let me know.

To be honest I'd probably do it almost the same way - However, I'd duplicate the track and set the alternate eq on that one, then with the automation on I'd simply cross fade between the normal and alternate tracks. For me - that would be simpler.

What I would do is leave the piano alone and EQ the guitar so it doesn't fight with the piano.