Can I get the right way to mix or a process I should use to mix correctly.

P

PaulKarate

I have no formal training with mixing. Eqing aside would this be the correct steps to take in order to mix a song well:

1. Get all the drums right and pump them to the appropriate level without overhitting

2. Mix in the bass next

3. Mix in all the guitars

4. Mix in any and all keyboard parts

5. Vocals last.

I'm pretty sure the answers I'll get will be "just mix it so it sounds good to your ears. But what I'm really wondering is if there is a certain process that I should use as a template.

Again, I'm a newbie to this so any help would be much appriciated.

Where in the process should I do all my eqing and compressing of each of the individule tracks? I'm not sure at which point this should take place. Should I compress and eq each track first before hand or should I do all this to each Individual track while it is playing in the mix?

For example, I know there is a correct signal chain when setting up to record an audio track So I think what I'm looking for is the correct steps and in what order to mix in. Does it even matter?

Thanks

Bring up the drums

Bring up the bass and make sure it doesn't crowd out the kick

Bring up the vocals and lead guitar, make sure they are at a good level in relation to the cymbals

Bring up everything else, making sure that they are not stepping on the lead vox and lead guitar.

If you want to bring the guitars up louder without crowding out, say, the kick, cut some bass out of the guitar, then bring up the guitar some, repeat until you can hear the guitar enough. Do the same with keyboards. If they are crowding something out use eq cuts to prevent that. Then for a real trip, try soling the instruments you just made cuts on and get a mirror so you can watch your nose shrivel in discust.