Building a Song from an Acapella

• Thread starter Deleted member 203901
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 203901

Hi there,

I was wondering whether someone could answer my question about building a song around an mp3 Acapella (vocal track). Just recently I found an acapella (in mp3 format) of a song that I had recorded a few years back. I would love to redo that song all over again with better instrumentation, mixing and mastering. My goal is to try to beat the previous version of the song in terms of quality (the older version is fine but I can still hear some issues there that hopefully I can improve on this time around) But since the acapella track is in mp3 format (and not wav), would that make a huge difference in the end result when in comes to the vocals? Since I'm fairly new to the art of mixing audio, I can hardly tell a difference between a mp3 and wav file of the same performance....I would love to hear your opinions and insights on this issue. Thanks!

"better instrumentation"? 'A capella' means vocals only, no instruments.

Just go ahead and do it. Unless its a low resolution MP3, you are unlikely to hear the difference in the final production.

I have used 320kbps MP3s when collaborating with others and I never felt that quality was an issue. Just go for it. If it doesn't sound good, redo the vocal tracks.

I just realised a project from a few weeks ago was done in 320 mp3, instead of 48K 24 bit wavs and I simply didn't notice.

I also got confused with the notion of an a Capella with instruments?

Thanks for your replies. Sorry about the confusion, I meant to say that I found the vocals tracks of an old song and wanted to create a new version using that track!

Sure, it's entirely possible to build a new arrangement around an old vocal track. What matters more about the MP3 vocal track is what quality MP3 it is. If it sounds ok, then you should be fine. If it is just a low resolution MP3 you can still do it, but it may not sound all that great