Beginner, lost because of the web [MIXING ISSUES]

Gaby7575

Hello, I'm new to audio mixing and I spent my last days watching tutorials on Youtube. I do electro, I use Fl Studio and I have a lot of problems.

1. I don't know where to start: on Youtube, many mixing techniques, more or less complicated, have been explained. But, they are contradictory and I'm lost.

2. Gain Staging: Before starting my mix, I reduce my sounds to -15 dB. I do busses (drums, bass, leads). The problem is that the sound is low. I use, in Fl Studio, FabFilter Pro C to compress my sounds. However, my sounds are not very loud and the gain reduction doesn't work, so the compression doesn't work.

3. How do I get a volume? I listen to music (NCS, Spinning Records), and I wonder how to get so much volume, so much energy. Even by compressing and using Ozone imager and Ozone maximizer, I don't get such a result.

4. Why use a multiband compressor in the master? In the tutorials I watched, most producers use multiband compressors (ozone, maximus ...). Yet we already compress the sounds in the mixing. Why isn't the sound too compressed if you compress it again in the mastering?

5. My mix is very "heavy" and harsh. I have mixed a music, but it is not smooth and balanced. Yet without the mastering, I don't have any problems. In fact, my drop sounds very good, loud and fluid, but the rest of my mix is much less loud, the sounds are not clear.

I would like to have clear answers that don't contradict each other.

Thank you very much.