Any mixing/mastering tips specific to metal?

Mr Death Hands

hi im new to this forum, iv'e been studying music tech (in the u.k) for a couple of years now. Im fairly familiar with the basics of recording and have gotten used to the problems of recording in a less than suitable space.

My question is are there any of you here that can point me in the right direction when recording metal which is something i've been tring to do for a few months and im not totally happy with the sounds im getting. I have done the whole "death scoop" eq-ing on guitars (messa 20/20 powering a digitech 2120 and a marshall TSl 100 with fx in the loop), all instruments are down tuned to C, drums straight down the middle and are a mix of Drum kit from hell and live acoustic kit. I have triple tracked some of the guitars, doubled others dependant on how it sounded. I think what im after is some other ideas for techniques i could try out. I do mainly doom/ thrash/prog metal.

Yea. Don't do the "death scoop" or whatever the heck it is you tried in a vicious attempt to degrade sound quality of guitar tracks. And try using some real drums.

keep it simple. get a good sound out of your amp and record it. sometimes boosting the mids on the amp will sound great through the right mic.

for quick riff ideas i plug my jackson ke2 directly into a marshall avt20 mic'd with a royer r-121 going into an apogee mini me to record right away before i forget. riff! it sits right next to me. volume about 3 or 4, gain 5, bass 0.5, mids 3, treble 2.5. just for quick riffs. sounds alright and it's simple. though my main amp is a marshall tsl122 for more serious recordings. just keep practicing. oh yeah and use the search. this forum is loaded with stuffs. metalhead28 made an awesome micing techniques thread too. all kinds of information i would be lost without.