Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Some stuff for you to practice your mixing

Thanks
    Sign in to disable this ad
    Fantastic song!

trouble.mp3

Thanks
    I really love the energy of this song...great tune and a good raw recording. Sorry the file is so big. I left it as a full 24bit /48k wav. file for those that don't like mp3's.

Dropbox - Trouble.wav
    Last edited by abc1mce2; 08-23-2017 at 16:39. Reason: Uploaded a new mix

Thanks
    I decided to post an mp3 of the song to dropbox to make it easier to preview. Any feedback is welcomed and appreciated.

Dropbox - Trouble.mp3
    Last edited by abc1mce2; 08-23-2017 at 16:39. Reason: Uploaded a new mp3.

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by mxw View Post
    Hi, I took the challenge! This sort of stuff is way out of my comfort zone. I am a complete DIY amateur who has mixed hardcore punk bands - which usually means raw, no-frills, in-your-face sort of basic "bluff-my-way-through" mixing stuff. So I took this as a fun challenge. I would very much appreciate constructive criticism? Seriously, the harsher the better! If you can't be arsed, that's cool too! I tend to prefer dry, bright mixes. Although I put some delay on the vocs. I did like her voice, she's very good. Thanks for the practice tracks!

Trouble
    Hi mxw,

thanks for sharing your mix ! I can imagine that this is way different than mixing hard core punk. I have never mixed any other music than the music made by the bands I played in. And that tends to be more soul/funk oriented. A friend of mine was into punk a lot back in the days and if I think of his music than I agree that a no-frills attitude towards mixing it is probably the way to go (I'm also a DYI amateur btw, so it's just my opinion). Since there's a lot of guitar, bass and drums energy going on, reverb and other effects would just wash away the attack and b*lls the music needs.