Why my mixes sound like sh*t on phones

dennisgamalej

Hey guys i am new in the studio world.
I have a condens mic sound card and studio monitors. My mixing and mastering sounds amazing on my studio monitors but when i listen it back on my phone it sounds like sh*t. A lot of like overcompressed mix, basses sound like rise,vocal and my instrumental music sound separated...... is there anything i can do? For example ajust eq so it sounds good on my phone? Any tips? Thank you so much!

Don't mix to sound good on a phone. Mix to sound generally good. If it sounds great on a stereo, in a car, on an ipod, on a computer and on a boom box type but sounds crap on a phone, one shouldn't be shedding any tears at that.
Of course I'm biased but pretty much everything sounds pretty shitty on a phone. That's life.

The general wisdom is that if it sounds good on a good system, it will sound fine on a bad system.

Now, if your mix sounds noticeably worse on your phone than your reference songs do, the next step would be to compare your mix to your reference songs on your good system. How do they compare there?

I've heard some absolutely wonderful commercial songs that sound like crap on a phone. I blame the phone, not the music.

Do you songs sound like crap when you plug in a pair of earbuds or headphones? If not, then the problem is you probably have lots of information beyond the limited frequency response of the microspeakers in the typical phone.

If you are seriously worried about making mixes for "good sound" on a phone, you might read through this. Mixing for small speakers. Just be aware that limiting information or boosting certain parts of the spectrum to sound good on a microspeaker may mean you miss out on a superior product on a REAL audio system.

Hey guys i am new in the studio world.