what's the best mastering plug-in limiter in 2014?

Btyre2013

Hi, I've been researching what plug-in limiter to buy because I need a very high quality and transparent sounding one.

My main ones of interest are the Fabfilter Pro-L and Voxengo Elephant, I'm not a professional ME but would really appreciate a mastering engineers opinion on this subject. I produce mostly classical guitar music so transparency is very important and very minimal limiting is what I'm trying to achieve, I would like to reduce the dynamic range to K-14 without noticable artifacts! would it be a better idea to master a classical guitar album to the K-20 standard? and also is the -23LUFS too quiet for this style? my system has a lot of volume and headroom so I don't always get it loud enough, and it's hard to tell if it's way too quiet or 'just right' because I've not done this before and have lack of experience.

regards,

Ben.

Getting the obligatory "Volume is the easy part - and the least important part of the process" thing out of the way...

K14 on solo classical guitar is probably going to sound like crap no matter what limiter you're using. Or at least, "too loud" by comparison.

That all said - Elephant isn't a bad place to be. Lots of tweakability under the hood.

I like the limiter in Ozone. Don't laugh, it is very simple and very good. Plus it has a dithering module.

What is this K-14/K-20 thing??

I'm not by any means an ME........but Tone Boosters makes an excellent and very transparent Limiter with dithering.

Hi, I've been researching what plug-in limiter to buy because I need a very high quality and transparent sounding one.

My main ones of interest are the Fabfilter Pro-L and Voxengo Elephant,
Either of these is good, as is the Ozone 5 limiter. Pick your poison ; ) I like Pro L
L2 is a little old skool, but could work too, but ime, isn't as transparent as the limiters mentioned above.