TC Electronic Finalizer Express VS ART Pro VLA 2

mnawara

Hi.. i am new to mastering and i want to get a hardware gear to help me master my projects in logic pro x because using plugins is not something i find handy.

i am thinking between a used TC Electronic Finalizer Express or a new ART Pro VLA 2..

any suggestions? and why

Thanks

They are two completely different things. A VLA might be OK forsome smoothing compression, but there is no way it will do any real limiting without it pumping terribly. I have one of those and I love it for bass, vocals, acoustic guitar, etc... but I would never in a million years use it as my only mastering compressor.

The finalizer is actually a mastering tool. I had the original finalizer back in the 90's. It works fine, but multiband compressors and limiters are also a little unnecessary most of the time. Especially when you can't actually adjust the parameters, like on the express version you are talking about.

Here is a list of proper mastering outboard gear MASSIVE Mastering - GEAR LIST

Really, for the $1000 you are going to spend on the finalizer, you could do so much better with plugin limiters, compressors and EQ's. With that budget, you could get a few different flavors of each, so you had some choices, depending on the material you were mastering.

thanks farview.. but i dont plan to get a new one.. a used finalizer could be around $500 and i really feel more comfortable dealing with hardware over plugins.. but i will have another look on what i can buy in plugins with this budget before i make up my final decision

I have a TC finaliser and they work fine....you can pick up the 24 bit version new for £415 from Andertons in the UK , i'm with you on hardware -go with what you're comfortable with.