Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Self mastering

Thanks

Self mastering

Sign in to disable this ad
    So I just finished mixing this album and my clients have asked if I could master it for them. I really don't know anything about mastering so I could use some help. I know its dprobably difficult without hearing the mixes, but are there any general guidelines, procedures, rules of thumb that you use? The music is country/ blues/ jazz/ americana so severe compression is probably not desireable right?

also, how do you use multiband compression? Should I use multiband compression? How should I approach applying eq to a mix so I don't fuck it up?

Thanks
    source it out to someone else.

If you mixed the album you got it to sound as good as you possibly could right?

The point of mastering is so someone (preferrably who knows their shit) with a fresh set of ears can have a litsten and fix anything you may not have noticed.

I'm fairly new to the world of multiband compression... but as far as I can tell the general purpose is to compress certain frequencies as opposed to the whole thing.. I've used it to tame the bass a little bit. And get rid of a few harsh high's... Regarless of that there is ALOT more to mastering then throwing a multiband compressor over it..

hopefully one of the mastering guys here will jump in and give you some "real" advice.

danny.guitar Guest
    What did they want done in the mastering stage?

Thanks
    I had actually suggested that they look into sending it to a mastering studio and they asked if I could do it. I don't think they knew what mastering was until I mentioned it.

I told them I could at least run some compression and maybe some eq on it. The mix already sounds good by the way. They are very happy with it so there's nothing major that needs to be fixed.