New to Mastering

lemonwood

Almost finished with my first song. Wondering if there are a couple of tips I can get for clarity, perhaps create more crispness in sound per individual samples as well as creating more headspace. Muddiness is also an issue at this point. I've tried panning but it has been with less success. I use ableton. I'm just getting into music producing so I'm not entirely profficient with the lingo. Would like to learn to master on my own but also debating on simply sending it to a proffessional.

It's probably a good idea to send one out to a pro...that way, if you decide to master your own stuff, you will have at least one reference to compare to.
Mastering isn't as simple as just learning some tips...and often it requires more specialized equipment for both mastering and listening.

If you are already identifying issues in your mix...you have a ways to go before it ready for mastering.
Don't expect the mastering to provide some kind of absolute fixes to obvious issues that should be solved during tracking or mixing.
The minute you hears something that doesn't sound right...back-step and find/fix the cause at the source if possible, rather than letting it go downstream and then dealing with it.

Just doubling down on Miroslav -- You'll probably find that most engineers don't master their own mixes. Myriad reasons for that. But at this point, it's fairly obvious from what you're saying that you need to work on your general / mixing chops. The previous step is always more important.

You'll find plenty of mastering engineers that would be happy to take your $$$ (heck, I'm one of them). But if you aren't happy with your mix as it is, you probably won't be happy later either. You want to send out a mix that you feel is just right already.

yeah I never fully understood the Mastering thing...