Master Fader and final output goals

banjo71

I'm doing a lot of self-taught and trial and error on learning how to master so that everybody will be happy. I understand the mix needs to have an average RMS between -30 dB and -18 dB, with a peak signal below -4 dB or so. So I import that HRA file into WaveLab, do some simple processing like removing any DC Offset, normalization to "EBU R-128" specs, I resample as a process instead of during the chain because my computer doesn't like switching from sample rate to sample rate, then I start applying my effect chain. (I don't do a lot of editing, I'm not that smart or talented). I record a lot of bluegrass and acoustic music. So there's got to be a large dynamic range in the master (and in the mix). No compression or limiters on the mix buss.

I apply a Waves SSL G Mastering Compressor, a Softube EQ100, a Klanghelm saturator, sometimes a PSP Vintage Warmer, which is useful just to give it a little more punch and EQ, and finally a Waves L1 limiter. Then you have the Master Faders, and then the dither.

My question is about the Master Faders. I set my limiter ceiling to about -0.9 dB. What is the normal goal of nudging up the master faders? Are we trying to get to just under 0 dB? As close as we can? What's acceptable and what is not here?

Thanks ahead of time for any input on this.

Here are some dB numbers from analyzing the rendered master:

Digital Peak: -1.000 dB
Loudness Avg: -15.5 dB
Maximum RMS: -8 dB

From the meter:
Peaked out at -0.42 dB
RMS max at -6.4 dB

I guess the meter readings are more accurate than a small snippet of audio from the analyzer.

Here is the song I mixed and mastered:

Traveling Soldier - Banjo Hangout Jukebox

Last edited:
Answering would take more time than I have --

Master fader -- Put it at unity and ignore it.