DAW to Tape to DAW

joko38

Hi,

Just wondering if there is any benefit to doing this for my songs.

I have mixed a bunch of songs and would like to give them that 80's touch that I've read, tape provided to songs. Natural compression.... Hiss.... Warmth... ect....

I'm not a pro at this so I'm just repeating what I've read.

Anyway would it be beneficial to run my songs from my DAW, into my Tascam 246 at high speed to tape, then back in to my DAW.

Just wondering if it's worth the experiment or if this is a waste of time. Trying to get all the benefits that tape has to offer if any, based on what I read on the web.

Looking for some expert advise.

Thanks.

Last edited:
Just wondering if it's worth the experiment or if this is a waste of time.
Both.

The "tape" that "they" refer to (which pre-dates the 80s by a longshot, BTW) isn't just any old tape. They're talking about pro machines by Sony, Studer, etc. that uses tape with professional formulations that range in size from 1/2" to 2" in width.

Going from the Big Boy's stuff to a portable cassette deck - even a double-speed Tascam - is kind of like going from a network broadcast HD TV clip to a cell phone video; they're both digital video, and you can get useful stuff off the cell phone, but the quality and qualities between the two are of a completely different scale.

Add to that, "that sound" of high quality tape usage doesn't come from taking a mixdown and bouncing it to tape, it comes from tracking to tape from the beginning and using tape throughout the process.

In summary, you can't expect to get "that sound" by bouncing to a Portastudio. That, however should not stop you from experimenting and giving it a try. You never know what else you might learn from the exercise, and while you might not get *that* sound, you might find something else along the way that you do like. You never know unless you try.

G.

Glen,

I appreciate your time answering my question. Might I as what experiments you suggest?