Is it possible for indie artists to survive making music?

stringbender05

Im just curious have any of you ever had a decent amount of success selling your music digitally? What is the most you ever made? Or did it flop and your worst nightmare came true? Im a solo artist getting ready for my first release so this kind of scares me a little bit. I am not going to mention names but I have seen some of these youtube guys act like Pewdiepie to get views and strangely enough it works. They are musicians, but they always make a mockery out of their art. I understand that it's all about connecting with your audience or potential fans but I could never make fun of myself to get attention. Something tells me those guys generate more revenue from their comedy skits and stuff than actual music.

My intention is to make a masterpiece out of this album. I wanna hit it out of the park. It's just if nobody has a reason to care and people don't value what I do I don't know what will happen. I am never going back to Wal Mart again though. I worked my ass off on this album. I just hope people enjoy it enough to show a bit of support because I am broke. If nobody wants to buy it, man would that suck. I figure if I am as good as I think I am people will support the cause. Another part of me says people feel entitled to free music and it wouldn't matter to them if I was the next Hendrix. Can't predict the future so I guess we will see what happens.

It's possible, sure, just like winning the lottery is possible. But that's just possible. It could happen. Just like you could get eaten by a shark while it's being struck by lightning.