One-Man-Band (songwriting session) video-song

FreshChops

.... just wanted to share a song I just wrapped up where I video'd the whole tracking process. The video used per part is actual capture of the tracks used. I start by playing all the guitar parts through in one shot, using a looper (EHX 2880) and a pair of amps (panned via the looper) to layer guitars. It was an experiment, that's more of a glimpse into my approach to songwriting.

One Man Band (Songwriting Sessions) - "Paradise Lost" - YouTube

I'm eager to here what y'all think. It's all done and wrapped around video editing and all, so not much leeway for change, but I'm just getting started so open to all critiques.... anything you're hearing in the mix etc.? I'm quite new to this and looking on how to improve going forward!

Thanks in advance!
Chris

Hi Chris,

I think this is pretty cool, and you are a great musician with good timing and a laid-back feel, so it's very easy to listen to and enjoy. I am just starting to think about putting together a video like this for a song or two from my album, so I'm very interested in the whole process, although I think my shooting process will be somewhat different, based on the fact that you are shooting the actual tracking and I will be shooting fake video performances and trying to sync them up to a prerecorded song. I really like the approach of shooting video for all the different parts, especially for a one-man-band setup, and I'm in a very similar situation, except I do have a drummer :)