Music Sales VS Gear Sales

Noah Nelson

I am an independent artist throwing shows once a month at a small bar.. We are thinking of Making Gear (hats/ shirts/ etc..) but are worried about how many we can realistically sell! I wanted to see if people have an easier time selling there CDs/Media or Gear and if they recommend any advice!:thumbs up:

Sell the T's/hats/merchandise....and then include your CD for "FREE" with each gear purchase. :)

Be creative. Everyone tries to sell hats and t-shirts, and everyone sits on boxes full of them. Sell something small and unique that doesn't cost much. Like underwear, or socks. Beer coozies. Keychains. I used to play in a psychobilly band and we sold customized stuff like lighters, combs, matchbooks, coozies, and the usual t-shirts, and back then, tapes. We always ran out of lighters. You're not going to make any profit anyway, so be cool about it.

That reminds me of this local store owner I interviewed for a college class a few years back, and he recommended to me that if I opened up a recording studio, I should combine it with a lingerie shop. It actually makes very good business sense.

That reminds me of this local store owner I interviewed for a college class a few years back, and he recommended to me that if I opened up a recording studio, I should combine it with a lingerie shop. It actually makes very good business sense.

In College Station, TX there used to be a bar/laundromat called Harvey Washburns. You start a load of clothes, drink about 5 beers, throw em in the dryer, 5 more beers, stagger home dropping socks along the way. Cool place.