I Need help Fast

tmay

Hi, I have a question. I am a producer and recently I have worked on two songs that will be on a major record comming out in July on two of Atlanta's major acts. My question is that they want my information of my publishing company. I have copyrights to my music but how would I start my own publishing company to legally publish my music. HELP PLEASE

Well, get a lawyer is never bad advice... but it will save you money to be better informed and not have to rely on a lawyer for every little thing.

I am a music publisher and licensor in the UK. My advice is from a UK perspective and is based on what I know of the US (which is slightly less than my own market). There's lots of 'ifs' and 'buts' here, so I've had to make some basic assumptions about your situation.

Firstly, you do not say in what capacity you 'worked on' the tracks. For the sake of argument, I will assume that you were a co-writer, AND that you do not own a share in the 'sound' recording copyright - only the musical compositional copyright.

It is not entirely necessary to have your tracks published, or become a 'publisher'. Music Publishing is very simply agreed representation. It seems that in this instance you have successfully bypassed the process of having to go through a publisher to get your compositions in front of the noses of execs. Well played. As your tracks are currently unpublished, you currently own 100% of 'your share' of the musical copyright. (ie if you composed the track entirely yourself you still own 100% - if you co-composed it with one other writer you may own 50%... - you haven't given away a percentage to anyone....yet!)