Following the crowd

Tucci

Treeline, Weatherbill, and Demensia all recently posted threads asking for critiques of their websites. That seemed like a good idea to me as I am also a newbie with the web site stuff....(I use MS Word). Anyway, any sort of criticism, flattery, or pummelling is welcome:

www.locuststreettaxi.com

I especially want to know if you think the Junk Drawer is a good idea. It is still in its infancy, but I'm hoping it will add to the content value of the site once I start regularly adding stuff to it. I've thought about adding a message board too. Just trying to think of ways to get people to come back on a regular basis.

The site is very generic. Very much "top to down" format. Which was popular about 8 years ago. I would investigate using one of the editors like Front Page, etc. Also, lose the hotmail email address, looks VERY non professional. I would recommend a contact form where people can enter messages to you on your website and then it gets emailed to you automatically. It's not a bad site, again it's just very generic.

I would say this site is better than 90% of the band websites I have seen, including ones for "professional" artists. (Have you seen Jack Bruce's or Robben Ford's sites?)

If by "very generic," homeuser means that you don't have a fancy Flash animation intro, or that your graphics were not obviously done by a high-proced graphic artist, then maybe that's true. I suppose it could be a little more fancy. But as I said, it's better than most already.

You don't need FrontPage, trust me -- if you could do what you already did in Word, there's no sense in getting that app to hold your hands for you.

I think the Junk Drawer is a very good idea, I've not seen anyone use that metaphor before.

Appreciate the feedback..