Demo producers - I need advice

Agent47

Dismember
I've been doing the home studio thing for many years, and over the last couple of years I've produced a few demos for people, and I'm starting to think that I may be able to almost make a living on it if I work it right...

Any people out there who produce demos for paying clients who can give me some advice?

I'm looking at the solo singer/songwriter market - the young'uns who watch X Factor and want to get their demo out. So my style is kind of electronic, synthesised pop, maybe some guitar thrown in. Definitely not for bands - I don't have to room or resources to record kits.

As with previous demo jobs I've done, I'm planning on having a fixed price for finished songs - not charging by the hour as many studios do. That way potential clients know what they're paying for the whole job. Good idea or not? I think what puts a lot of new singers off is knowing how much it'll all cost in the end. The fixed price will include recording and total production, and CD. The singer will retain all rights to their song.

Also, marketing. Where is the best place to advertise for clients? Any online places that are ideal (I've tried Gumtree/Craiglist)?

How frequently do you get demo work - enough to live off?

Any additional advice would be appreciated!

:)

Cheers,

Agent.

I've never been a fan of charging a flat fee per song, for one primary reason. If the artist does not come in prepared or if the artist is indecisive about what they want - the recording/mixing time can quickly get out of control.

Artists (in particular people with limited or no studio experiance) rarely appreciate how much time it takes to record and mix a song. While you are not planning on doing bands (which can multiply variables, the headaches and the studio time) - recording a single artist (singer/songwriter) can still take a lot of time.